10 Responses to No email sign ups for a whole class

  1. Chris Moore says:

    Love this trick! I tried using it with blogger and ran into problems though. I think I’ll be using a quick email solution like 10 Minute Mail or Mailinator to solve the same problem. I’m curious about any other solutions.

    • oliverquinlan says:

      10 minute mail will get you a sign up, but it generates horrible email addresses which won’t be much use if you want to be able to log in again after the initial use…

  2. Marsha says:

    Cannot get this to work. Gmail will not accept a + sign in the username. What am I doing wrong? Thank you.

  3. tamara says:

    Fantastic solution! I wish I had known about it before my 7th grade class today. Gmail has gotten too smart with recognizing IPs and our class was locked out of creating new accounts temporarily. Have set this up already for my entire 6, 7 and 8th grade classes. Took all of 10 minutes! Thank you.

  4. […] If you want to make more email addresses quickly, check Oliver Quinlan’s post on it. Category: General Thoughts  | Tags: animoto, blogs, logins, prezi, viddler […]

  5. Janet says:

    I’m trying to figure out how to add 20 separate gmail accounts for my 20 classes, and then add my student roster each class so that we could use google docs for peer editing without using emails.

  6. […] *Here is an excellent post from Oliver Quinlan which gives very clear instructions on setting up ‘dummy’ email accounts using gmail. […]

  7. Reno Teacher says:

    Great idea but I’ve found some websites that will not accept an email with a + in it as being vaild for registration. For example, http://www.voicethread.com (which is a good educational tool). So beware of that potential problem.

  8. This is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very accurate information… Thank you for sharing
    this one. A must read article!

Leave a Reply

